My Favorite Time of Year

It’s the most wonderful tiiime of the yeeear…
shakasantaCan you believe that Christmas is already tomorrow?  I am so excited for all the Christmas festivities like opening presents, eating food, and most importantly, spending time with loved ones!

Christmas is my most favorite holiday.  Back in the day, Mama Ladybug would always take my siblings and I to Honolulu Hale to see Shaka Santa and Tutu Mele hanging out by the fountain with their friends.  It is a tradition that I cherish and still practice to this day.

This year, Kalea and I got our Christmas tree early.  Every year, tons of Christmas trees get imported from the mainland just in time for the holiday season.  But did you know that some trees don’t need to be imported?  The main Hawaiian islands all grow the Norfolk Island Pine trees and the Cook Pine trees.  Although mainly used as lumber trees and for reforestation, some local farms do use these as Christmas trees as well!

Finding out about the local Christmas trees had me wondering what else I didn’t know about Christmas.  Here are a few fun facts that Kalea and I discovered:

  • It takes an average of 7 years to grow a Christmas tree, some up to 15 years!
  • For every tree that is harvested, 2 to 3 trees are planted in its place
  • The Poinsettia is a traditional Christmas plant that originated from Mexico. They are especially popular here in Hawaii!
  • Black Friday (the Friday after Thanksgiving) is actually not the busiest shopping day. What is?  The Friday and Saturday before Christmas!
  • Before there were fancy and colorful ornaments, Christmas trees were traditionally decorated with foods such as apples and nuts.
  • If you received every gift from “The Twelve Days of Christmas”, you would have a total of 364 gifts. That’s a gift a day for a year!
  • Caroling started as an old English tradition that was originally called wassailing, which was a toast to a long life.
  • Before Christmas was introduced to the Hawaiians, they celebrated a 4-month long tradition called Makahiki, which was a peaceful time of feasting and games. War was prohibited during this time.

Christmas may be my favorite holiday, but there was still so much that I learned about it!

Well, now it’s time for me to water the poinsettias and practice my wassailing for tonight.  I hope you all have a wonderful holiday weekend!

Mele Kalikimaka!

-Yoko

Leave a Reply

